Stock Market Holiday Closings and Early Closes


The New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ Stock Market and the Amex Market are open Monday through Friday 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 P.M. Eastern except as listed below.

Regular After Hours/Extended trading is from 4:00 P.M. to 6:30 P.M. Eastern.


2018 U.S. Exchange Holidays
All Major US Stock Exchanges
Closed or Close Early as Listed
New Year's Day
Monday, January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, January 15
Washington's Birthday (Presidents' Day)*
Monday, February 19
Good Friday
Friday, March 30
Memorial Day
Monday, May 28
Early Close @ 1:00 P.M. Tuesday, July 3
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day
Monday, September 3
Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 22
Early Close @ 1:00 P.M. Friday, November 25
Early Close @ 1:00 P.M. Monday, December 24
Christmas Day      
Tuesday, December 25
Averaging 94.57% Peak Gains
100% Unbiased Research

12th Anniversary Special

This Week Only

Two - For - One
Start Here Now

* Washington's Birthday was first declared a federal holiday by an 1879 act of Congress. The Monday Holiday Law, enacted in 1968, shifted the date of the commemoration of Washington's Birthday from February 22 to the third Monday in February, but neither that law nor any subsequent law changed the name of the holiday from Washington's Birthday to President's Day. Although the third Monday in February has become popularly known as President's Day, the NYSE's designation of Washington's Birthday as an Exchange holiday (Rule 51) follows the form of the federal holiday outlined above (section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code).